• Deutsch
  • English

Contemporary Living in Historic Spaces

FRIZ BnB & Lounge is a remarkable concept offering a number of holiday apartments in a converted listed barn on the edge of Freiburg in the middle of the Black Forest. The apartments are self-catering with fully equipped kitchens and spacious bathrooms, perfectly suited for couples and families aiming for a weekend break or an extended stay for several weeks. FRIZ opened up its doors early 2017.

The concept merges historic building materials, such as truss walls, old beams and quarry stones with modern exposed concrete. The building’s spaces were decorated using collectible furniture objects, contemporary art and other unusual, characterful pieces or objets trouvés. Most objects have been collected and compiled by the hosts Ron and Melanie during years spent abroad or through their passion to collect.

The building, former stables of the farming estate „zum Pflughof“, was erected in 1843, declared listed in 1980 and converted in 2017 to comprise seven apartments, ranging from 40 sqm (one bedroom) up to 120 sqm (three bedrooms). Five apartments are located on the ground floor along an elevated, elongated garden.

The FRIZ Lounge, located at the front of the building, is a space with multiple faces. On the one hand it’s a small trendy café, where regular guests enjoy espresso from a 1963 Faema E61 and homemade chocolate cake. At the same time the space functions as a gallery for art and objects, mid-century furniture and shop. As such it offers original, collectible furniture pieces and objects with patina (never without!), such as a KNOLL Barcelona, an EAMES Fibreglass Rope Chair 1951, a Braakman Wire Chair, an old street light from Sweden converted to a floor lamp or an old 1935 toy race car pressed from a single plate of steel by JEP (for kids to play with).

• Deutsch
  • English

Spannende Wohnwelten im Denkmal

FRIZ BnB & Lounge ist ein besonderes Ferienkonzept mit mehreren Apartments in einer umgebauten, denkmalgeschützten Scheune direkt an Freiburg, Hochschwarzwald. Die Apartments sind Selbstversorger, ausgestattet mit ausgebauten Küchen und grosszügigen Badezimmern, perfekt geeignet für Paare oder Familien für einen Wochenendausflug oder einen Urlaub von mehreren Wochen. FRIZ eröffnete Anfang 2017 seine Türe.

Das Konzept bringt historische Bauelemente wie Fachwerk, altes Gebälk und Bruchstein zusammen mit Sichtbeton und designorientierten Möbelobjekten, zeitgenössischer Kunst vermischt mit ungewöhnlichen, charaktervollen Gegenständen. Die in den Inneneinrichtung eingesetzten Objekte wurden von den Gastgebern Ron und Melanie, durch deren leidenschaftlichen Sammelwut und während Aufenthalte in der weiten Welt, zusammengetragen

Das Gebäude, die ehemalige Pflughofscheune, stammt aus 1843 und umfasst insgesamt 7 Apartments mit Grössen ab 40 bis 120 qm. Fünf Apartments befinden sich im Erdgeschoss entlang einem langgestreckten und erhöhten Garten.

An der Vorderseite des Gebäudes befindet sich die Friz Lounge, ein Raum mit mehreren Eigenschaften. Die Lounge ist ein kleines, trendiges Café, wo ein zeitgenössisch Publikum geniesst von der Faema E61 (Baujahr 1963) und Homemade Chocolate Cake. Sie ist gleichzeitig auch Kunstgalerie, Objektraum und Shop. Hier findet man originale, seltene Möbelstücke mit Patina (nie ohne!), wie ein Knoll Barcelona, ein Eames Fibreglass Rope Chair 1951, ein Braakman Wire Chair, eine umgebaute Strassenlaterne als Bodenstrahler oder alte Rennautos von JEP aus 1935 (für Kinder zum Spielen).

Empfohlen von